Roller Race Championship 2019


2 February 2019    
18:00 – 19:00

Event Type

This years event saw 17 riders take to the start covering a very wide rage of ages and abilities.

First to go were the Youth riders covering ages from under 10 to under 16, some of the smaller ones enlisting the help of a front wheel support.

One thing that they all had in common was determination! After the first round (a flying start 250M TT) less than 2 seconds covered the first three; Ben Lucas, Elodie Gage & Will Farmer.

Not far back was George Dunn, followed by Niamh Fletcher, Vincenzo, Kian Wiggan, Olly Ward, Ray Lovell and Nyla Fletcher.

It was the longer and so much harder second round over 500M from a standing start that really made the difference….

Seeded in pairs according to their first round times these ‘Head to Head’ races are always tough and often very close!

Ninth spot went to Nyla (Niamhs’ younger sister) over Kian Wiggan reversing their positions from the opening round.

Seventh overall went to Olly Ward by 1.78 seconds, after a very close battle with Ray Lovell.

Fifth place went to Niamh Fletcher over young Vincenzo who as an under 10 comfortably won his age category. 

Third spot was secured by Ben Lucas by virtue of his faster first round time and after near identical 500m times.

The top seed, Will pulled away in the closing stages to take the overall title from Elodie by just over 1 second! Well done Will.

The Seniors, Juniors and Veterans race saw all three categories represented covering a near 50 year age spread.

The opening round of a 500M flying start no less than four riders within a single second of each other,

Zak White led the standings with 20.22s followed by Seb Bacon the defending Champion, Steve White (a former winner) and new comer Mahyar Abbott.

A little further back were Giulio Cervi, Robin Kyte (multiple past Champion)  and Junior Alex Hall.

As with the Youth riders it was the longer distance of 1 kilometer that made the difference!

Alex Hall unfortunately having to ride solo due to the odd numbers.

Giulio Cervi was just over a second faster than Robin Kyte who was over 10 seconds off his best and having a bad day! – maybe for the last time in this competition.

3rd place went to veteran Steve White over Mahyar Abbott. Steve clocking a personal best time.

The Final was a close run thing with Seb & Zak staying close until the final half lap when Seb stormed home to record a splendid 44.49s worthy of anything set by past Champions.

However with less than a second between then it was very close indeed, here’s to next years contest!